It’s My Party Blog Hop

Standard
It’s My Party Blog Hop

Welcome to our Party Decor Blog Hop. We have a fantastic group of ladies who love to make party decorations and we are excited to share our projects with you today! If you just happened to find my blog, thank-you so much. However, so you don’t miss awesome projects or the chance to win blog candy, you will want to start at the beginning at Laurie’s page.

On a personal note, I LOVE to make party supplies. In fact, I used to have a shop on Etsy for it but it just got too frustrating with the constant increase in shipping charges & many customers wanted to “cheapen” the cost of my product. Unless you are a crafter & understand how much time goes into perfecting your creations, you know & sympathize for my reasoning to just stop selling online. Since I enjoy doing this craft so much, I am now going to open up a booth here at my local craft shop to sell my creations with out price negotiations. LOL!

My project for this hop came in perfect timing for my nephew’s 6th birthday party. He turns 6 on May 15th & my own son turns 4 on May 19th. So it makes for a very busy month in April to make so many party supplies for the next month worth of parties. I choose this year to do the Peter Piper Pizza for my son since he LOVES pizza & is going to LOVE the ball pit.

My nephew had this theme ready to go since the day of last year’s party (last year we did a pirate theme, including “Real” Pirates as his “LIVE” entertainment). It’s his tradition to choose what his next theme would be & luckily he has never changed his mind later in the year to a different theme. So this year’s theme is LEGOs!!! This little boy just LOVES his Legos, I know I did when I was younger. He is already completing (with the help of my dad caz there always seems to be more “extra” pieces than usual) in these 1000+ sets he does. I make fun of him caz he gets into his “Angry Bird” face while he is concentrating on his Lego project. 

So being the good Aunt that I am plus it helps that I have a Cricut & know how to use it very well, I am making all his party decorations. For this hop I will show off the Table Centerpiece & his Name Banner. I will later post more projects as I complete them plus another post about the party. SO be on the look out for that (good if you followed my blog to get the email about it)! LOL

HERE IS THE LEGO MINI FIGURE CENTERPIECE

…..There will be 3 centerpieces for the party. This one has a Red Base & the other 2 will have a Blue Base & Yellow Base. It is planned to use a table runner of bubble wrap (spray painted green) to resemble the Lego Base Plate.

I used a box I had after my mom gave me a Pampered Chef glass container. I wrapped it in red cardstock then began the designing of the Mini-Fig svg on my SCAL2 software. I downloaded the Lego Thick font from Urbanfonts.com website. Using my SCAL2 software, I was able to use this font to cut the number 6 & the text in the banner the mini-fig is holding using my Cricut. I had Popsicle sticks left over from last year’s party that I used this year as the means for the mini-fig to hold the banner. Oh, I forgot to mentioned that I put some Styrofoam block inside the box before wrapping it so that I can use a Bamboo Skewer to hold the Mini-Fig standing up. After I did all this, I sat back & thought….”This can’t be it…I need more ‘pizzazz’ for it to be a centerpiece”. I moved away from it & then it hit me….wrap the bottom like a pinata! So I had some leftover tissue paper from my Yo Gabba Gabba party decoration days that I used to wrap the bottom. Then using yellow curling ribbon, I outlined the top of the box with my Scotch ATG gun to adhere the ribbon to the box. I think it looks great! Most importantly, the birthday boy thinks so too!!!

This is close ups of the Lego Bricks sitting on top of the centerpiece & the banner the Mini-Fig is holding.

HERE IS THE NAME BANNER

…Being that the centerpieces had “Happy Birthday Nathaniel” I chose to just use his name in the banner. #1 caz his name is so long & #2 he can recycle the use of it in his playroom….

To make the Lego bricks at the end, I cut a Blue 8 1/2″ x 11″ sheet of cardstock in half to make it 5.5 x 8.5″. I printed LEGO bumps that I found here, onto clear full sheet labels. Using foam board that I cut into 1×1″ squares, I popped the Lego Bumps up on the half sheet of cardstock.

I then cut out his name using the Lego Thick font, my SCAL2 & my Cricut. I layered each letter using white textured cardstock, black textured cardstock, & plain yellow cardstock. I always use The Paper Studio’s cardstock as I LOVE Hobby Lobby (& their coupons)! I bought some red poster board from the Dollar Store & cut out 6×8″ rectangles to layer the letters onto it. Using my Fisckers Paper Trimmer, I came down 1/2 inch from the top & either side to cut a slit 1/2 inch long. I threaded blue curling ribbon thru each of these slits to be able to string out his name. In between his letters, I made a simple Lego Mini-Fig Head in SCAL2. I used a rounded square as the head portion & a smaller rounded square for the top portion. Using a 1.5 inch circle for the eyes & a half circle for the mouth, I made his face features. I bought yellow poster board, also from the Dollar Store (don’t you just love the dollar store!) & used my 12×24 Cricut mats to quickly cut out 8 mini-fig heads. Using 1 sheet of 8.5×11 sheet of black cardstock, I was able to cut out the face features & ran them thru my Xyron sticker maker for a quick assembly.

I have enjoyed so far making my nephew’s party decorations. It has stretched my creativity that I so needed to get out of my Crafty Depression…LOL! I can’t wait to do more supply shopping this weekend with my sister so that I can make more stuff for his party. I am making a huge surprise for him, so you will have to come back to see what else I make for him!

Thanks so much for stopping by but don’t forget….There is Blog Candy!!!

Want to win something? Well, Laurie is offering some Blog Candy…..here is what she is offering & I do hope you follow my blog so that you can see the rest of my Lego Party creations!

BLOG CANDY is a $20 gift card to Michael’s!

To win, all you have to do is comment on each of the designer’s blogs. Following everyone’s blog isn’t required but we sure do appreciate it when someone new follows our blogs. The winner will be announced on http://mincedpaper.blogspot.com on April 27th.

Thanks so much for hoppin my way…..Up Next is Sandy

Here is the entire Line-up in case you need it.

About Cyndie

I am a SAHM of a very active 3 yr. old little boy & have a pre-teen 12 yr old step-son. I have been married to a wonderful man for 3 years now but have been together for more than 6 years. I love using my Cricut & Sure Cuts A Lot software to make customized birthday party supplies, scrap book pages, 3D paper art & much more! I am Co-Creative Director of a local crafting organization called ABC Krafterz. I teach Beginner's & Advanced classes on the Cricut & the Sure Cuts A Lot program. I run a small party business from home called Cyndie's Paper Boutique (formerly known as Cyndie Creative Crafts). I have my degree in Merchandising from the University of North Texas & minored in business.

46 responses »

  1. Cyndie, love your lego party decorations. So cute. Love legos and cannot wait until my grandson is old enough for real legos.

    Thank-you so much for participating in my hop

    Laurie

  2. Wowza! Youve been busy! Thanks for sharing:-) this hop has been great so far and your lego party is awesome! So fun

    {Love-Love}
    Scrappinmadge
    Scrappinmadge.blogspot.com

  3. So Creative! I love the Centerpiece! My son lives for legos. What a great party inspiration! This is my first blog hop (long time scrapbooker, brand new blogger!) I am really enjoying it! Thanks
    ScrappinToxic Midge 🙂
    scrappintoxicmidge.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Jessica! Well if you are stuck on what to do for YGG, look at my Flicker portfolio. I have done a lot of Gabba party stuff & let me know if you need help with anything. This was my biggest seller when I was a party supply vendor on Etsy. I still have some inventory too…

  4. What an awesome party theme. Love that banner and centerpiece!
    Happy to be hopping and I became a new FB fan, too!
    :O)
    Jessica S
    Jessica’s Craft Shaque
    http.//jessicascraftshaque{blogspot}
    strgazrblueyes22477{yahoo}

  5. Oh so cute!! I remember having tons of those little things! You are right, people that don’t craft do not understand the amount of time we put into these things. Good luck to you and your booth!!

Leave a Reply

