Teacher Thank You Gifts Blog Hop

Standard

Image

Welcome to the Teacher Thank You Gifts Blog Hop ! You should have just come from Dena’s blog. If you’re just joining us and wish to start from the beginning, please hop on over to Dena’s blog (http://missdjones.blogspot.com/ ).

Teacher Appreciation Week this year begins on May 7th and ends on May 11th. If you’re looking for some teacher thank you gift ideas, you’ve come to the right place! Each of the designers in today’s hop are sharing a wonderful gift idea for a teacher. We hope you have fun hopping with us while picking up some great ideas!

On a personal note, this hop is very near & dear to me. I come from a long line of teachers. My father is a teacher & coach, my older sister was a pre-k/Kinder teacher & is now an Instructional Facilitator. I have many cousins & Aunts who are teachers as well as many of friends. I, myself, went back to school to get my teacher certification in Secondary Education focusing on Mathematics. But I am 34 hours away from completing such task….it’s the Linear Algebra that keeps me away…LOL! Anyways, being surrounded & very much influenced by the teachers in my family, I have come to see the nobility in the career but have also seen the unappreciativeness of the industry. This was why I was happy to join in on this hop. I hope more people can see the love these people put into your children. It is our teachers who are raising our leaders of tomorrow & for that they deserve our utmost respect & appreciation.  I hope you all enjoy the projects I created in honor of our great teachers!

Image

My Project: Banana Nut Mini Muffins with a Pencil Candy Holder & School House Photo Album

 

I had seen this Pencil Candy Holder online somewhere & there were so many variations to create it. I took my own measurements & did my own mistakes but came up with the following:;

#1. Took YELLOW cardstock & cut a 6 3/4″ x 6 3/4″ square. Then scored it at 1 3/4″, 2″, 2 3/4″, 4, 4 3/4″ & at 5″. I also inked the edges & score lines with my Yellow Crayola Marker (I wished I had the Stampin Up Daffodil Delight Ink pad, but working on building up my inks still).

2. Took a deep PINK cardstock & Cut a 6 3/4″ x 1″ rectangle. Then scored it at 1 3/4″, 2, 4 3/4″ & 5″. I also inked the edges with my Stampin Up Blushing Bride pink ink pad.

3. Took brown craft colored cardstock (didn’t have my Stampin Up Crumb Cake cardstock yet, but I do now) & cut it in a 2 3/4″ x 2 1/2″ square. Then scored the 2 3/4″ side by 3/4″ & cut it to a point. At the point, using a black Sharpie, I colored in a triangular shape to look like the pencil lead.

4. Took Chrome metal cardstock & cut it 6 3/4″ x 1/2″ rectangle. Then scored it at  1 3/4″, 2″, 4 3/4″ & at 5″.

5. I first attached the bottom portion of pencil to the yellow cardstock. I also cut out of the brown craft cardstock a 3/4″ x 2 3/4″ & scored it every 1/4″. I used this to create a bottom closed area for when you slip in the candy bar, it doesn’t fall out. 

6. I then attached the pink cardstock about 1/4″ on top of the yellow cardstock. 

7. Finally, after embossing the Chrome metal cardstock with the Houndstooth Embossing Folder from Provocraft, I attached it using my Scotch ATG gun in between the yellow & pink cardstock.

8. I added a Thank You tag using my Decorative Label Punch from Stampin Up & the stamped image is also from a Stampin Up stamp from the collection called Engraved Greetings. I added 4 clear rhinestones to add a little “Bling”. 

This created my Pencil Candy Holder.

Image

For my second project, I did a School House Mini Album. I was inspired by a blog I was directed to called scrapinfusions by Connie Prince. She had a free printable download of the school house album (go here if you wish to download it from her page). I am not one to do printables so I did download the file but I went a step further & imported into Inkscape & create an svg to use with my Cricut (I use SCAL2 to cut svg’s with  my Cricut). I thought it would be a quick project, but I was sooooo wrong! The creating into an svg & cutting the school house out was very easy. It was until I started decorating the pages that I got so into it & hours flew by so fast!!! Now, I don’t buy chipboard…..I RECYCLE! In fact I have so many cereal boxes, oatmeal boxes, cracker boxes & FROZEN PIZZA BOXES! My 3 yr old & I LOVE pizza (guess eating pizza once a week when I was pregnant got my little boy to love it as much as me, LOL)! So I used my pizza boxes to create the base of the school house pages. Here is my project up close:

Image

For the front cover I used a light great as my base color. Then layered basic colors in cardstock & embossed my shrubs in the Swiss Dot embossing folder & the window panes with the Square Lattice folder from Stampin Up. I inked some of the edges with Chocolate Chip brown ink from Stampin Up.

Image

These are my next 2 pages. All my patterned paper is from The Paper Studio. I used loose sheets & 2 paper packs (my Seasonal stack & Color Kaleidoscope). The cute little bear is an SVG from the Back to School collection from Scrappy Dew. I used my SCAL2 software to weld 2011 & SEPT together & shadowed to create a base for the letters & numbers.

ImageImage

These next 2 photos are of the Oct. page. I creates a “pull open” photo extender. I used Twine to create the closure & made a tab using the side portion of my Decorative Label Punch. I love that I can create new smaller tabs using this once punch….love multipurpose!

Image

The Nov. page has a cute little bear, also from the Back to School collection from Scrappy Dew.

ImageImage

The Dec. page has 2 photos showing the “drop down” photo extender. Used the Decorative Label Punch to create another small punch & also used the Dotted Scalloped Ribbon Punch to place a border at the location where the twine was attached.

Image

Jan. is a single photo page. Just welded text & numbers for this page.

ImageImage

Feb.’s page has a “drop down” photo extender with some pages embossed with hearts & a damask design. I used The Paper Studio’s “Hearts” embossing folder (inked the top with Stampin Up Cherry Cobbler Ink) & the Sizzix (Stampin Up) Vintage Wallpaper embossing folder (inked with Stampabilities Silver Pigment Ink Pad).

ImageImage

Mar.’s page has a “pull open like a book” photo extender. I inked the patterned paper with Stampin Up Chocolate Chip ink.

Image

April’s page has another cute bear holding scissors from the Back to School collection from Scrappy Dew.

ImageImage

My last 2 pages are for May. The top page has the “pull open like a book” photo extender. The second page has another paper pieced pattern from the Back to School collection from Scrappy Dew. Instead of using their Ruler svg file, I cut a piece of yellow cardstock & embossed it with a ruler embossing edger from Provocraft. Then inked the edges & the raised area with Stampin Up’s Chocolate Chip ink.

                   

 Well, that is my project! I enjoyed making it & very happy to be sharing it with you. So please Please hop on over to Mindy’s blog next to check out the thank you gift she’s created for a special teacher. THANK YOU & THANK A TEACHER!!!  Have a great Sunday!

Below is the complete blog hop lineup in case you lose your way:

1)   Dena :  http://missdjones.blogspot.com/  

2)   Cyndie : https://cyndiepaperboutique.wordpress.com 

3)   Mindy : http://papercreationsbymindyblog.blogspot.com/  

4)  Jamie : http://thesassyprincess.blogspot.com 

5)  Amy Jo: http://lv2scrapandfibrofacts.blogspot.com 

6 Cely: http://hawaiipaperparty.blogspot.com 

About Cyndie

I am a SAHM of a very active 3 yr. old little boy & have a pre-teen 12 yr old step-son. I have been married to a wonderful man for 3 years now but have been together for more than 6 years. I love using my Cricut & Sure Cuts A Lot software to make customized birthday party supplies, scrap book pages, 3D paper art & much more! I am Co-Creative Director of a local crafting organization called ABC Krafterz. I teach Beginner's & Advanced classes on the Cricut & the Sure Cuts A Lot program. I run a small party business from home called Cyndie's Paper Boutique (formerly known as Cyndie Creative Crafts). I have my degree in Merchandising from the University of North Texas & minored in business.

9 responses »

  1. The papers you chose for each month are perfect! I happen to love the idea of a chocolate pencil!

    Sorry about that math! While I was getting my teaching degree, I was the only one at the time to be doing science and language arts; I didn’t want to deal with math! ;D

  2. fabulous project! you are definitely right that teacher’s don’t get enough appreciation. I try to spoil my daughter’s teacher – been a pleasure hopping with you! Mindy

  3. What cute and useful ideas. I could see giving the teacher the photo album at the beginning of the year so she could put pictures of her students as the year progressed. Thanks for sharing. Jearise from Lorby’s World.

  4. Hey, girl ! These are all such awesome projects! You sure put a lot of work into these! The candy bar pencil is unique and just too cute. Love all the details you put into the album. Awesome! Thanks for joining my hop! 🙂

  5. Cyndie,

    Your projects are great! I absolutely love the pencil candy holder. Thanks so much for including instructions for it! It’s really darling! I’m sure anyone would be so happy to receive the lovely gifts you have made here. The album is fantastic as well. Good luck on completing your course! You can do it!!!

    XO ~ Amy Jo
    amyjrockstar at gmail dot com
    http://lv2scrapandfibrofacts.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

