Girls Inc Wreath

Standard

Ok. So I get so happy when my either of my 2 sisters ask if I can use my Cricut to make something for them. I love designing & creating with my SCAL & Cricut. This time it was my younger sister who asked for my help. She is the Program Director for the San Antonio Chapter of Girls Inc. Its a great national organization that help inspire young girls be Strong, Smart, & Bold. Please check out their site & if you are feeling generous, please donate here.

So they had a convention & needed something that represented their chapter of Girls Inc. Well my younger sister is pretty crafty herself (even if she is a lefty, LOL) and came up with the idea of making a Fiesta Wreath. Fiesta is a huge 11 day “Party with a Purpose” here in San Antonio held every year (started in 1891 as a one-parade event and has evolved today into one of this nation’s premier festivals with more than 100 events and an economic impact of almost $284 million for the city.). It is common to see many front doors decorated with very colorful, floral, ribbon infested wreaths. So my sister made one from a raffia wreath, added very colorful paper flower garland. Then added the tin ornaments of young women dressed in traditional Mexican clothing (such as mariachi, floral dresses, etc.) & can’t forget the tin ornament of the Alamo on the top! Oh, you can’t forget the bunches of colorful ribbon, too. She added the Girls Inc. Bill of Rights on wider Red & White Ribbons & attached them to the tin ornaments. It was just beautiful (she takes after her crafty older sister…ME! LOL)!

So where do I & my Cricut come in….well, it was the Pièce de résistance! I created a SVG File of their logo (Girls Inc.) & in my Sure Cuts A Lot program also made a welded shadow of the logo in white textured cardstock. In red cardstock I cut out the shapes that create the Girls Inc logo & glued them onto the white cardstock. I also used my Amy Chomas Gel Pen holder & red glitter pen to write out “Girls Incorporated of San Antonio in a glittery red gel pen and filled in the spaces of the letters to make a solid written text. I also had to cut out 2 white shadowed pieces so that I can add paper twine in between so we could attach it to the center of the wreath….I think it came out pretty good…what do you think?.

My next Girls Inc project are custom Girls Inc. Papel Picado. Be on the look out for that post coming soon! The designs are made, I just need to cut them out!

Til next time – Happy Crafting!!!
Cyndie

About Cyndie

I am a SAHM of a very active 3 yr. old little boy & have a pre-teen 12 yr old step-son. I have been married to a wonderful man for 3 years now but have been together for more than 6 years. I love using my Cricut & Sure Cuts A Lot software to make customized birthday party supplies, scrap book pages, 3D paper art & much more! I am Co-Creative Director of a local crafting organization called ABC Krafterz. I teach Beginner's & Advanced classes on the Cricut & the Sure Cuts A Lot program. I run a small party business from home called Cyndie's Paper Boutique (formerly known as Cyndie Creative Crafts). I have my degree in Merchandising from the University of North Texas & minored in business.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

